According to Kim

When summer camp goes wrong

with 2 comments

I come home from work last night to hear my daughter say “I’m never eating meat again”.  Confused I asked “what did you learn at camp today?”. 

My daughter goes to camp at the local community college, they offer week long “courses” on a variety of topics.  Last week the class she went to was “star reporter”.  I thought this was great, she was going to learn how to get the scoop on breaking stories.  Ok, so I’m living through her a little.  Anyway, this week the class is “animal activists”, the only one she really wanted to attend.  In the brochure it states: “Many of us are concerned about the plight of homeless and abused animals.  Since we can’t bring them all home, this class is designed to increase awareness of effective options for helping them.”.  Seems harmless enough, right? 

My daughter told me that they watched a video on how cows are slaughtered (I believe she said skinned) alive and 7 chickens are kept in a cage with their beaks clipped.  After stating that she’s never eating meat again and that she’s now a vegitarian she added “happy cow’s don’t come from California”.  To that I had to chuckle. 

Still curious, I had to ask if the instructors (camp councelors or whomever they are) were from PETA.  She said she didn’t know but it’s mentioned a lot.  Thankfully for me she has her head on straight.  She said, with a roll of the eye, that they (the instructors) were crying during the video and were getting themselves all worked up.  I think she’ll be back to hamburgers by the end of the week.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think any animal should be abused in any way.  I’m all for animal rights but I’m not into fanatical groups, they take things too far. 

Written by Kim

July 25, 2007 at 9:03 am

Posted in Kids

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. O good grief, crying????? LOL

    diamondfistwerny

    July 26, 2007 at 12:46 am

  2. Yes, that’s what she said …and rolled her eyes. LOL That was the best part. My 13 year old has enough common sense to know when people are wacky!

    Kim

    July 26, 2007 at 7:57 am


Leave a Reply

