According to Kim

Can you hear me now?

with 4 comments

Last year I had some major renovation done to my house.  I had the second floor of my cape taken off and built back up for more space.  It was a very long process with some bumps in the road along the way.  One of those bumps happened to be my phone connection.  They ran into some trouble but eventually straightened it out …or so I thought!

Several months ago I moved the modem and poof …my phone service was gone.  I don’t know what I did and tried to fix it but nothing I did worked.  Since I really don’t care for the phone all that much I just used my cell phone.  That annoyed my mother because the cell phone is not always on or it’s on silent or in another room, etc.  So to please her I called the cable company, they told me what I needed to do and I tried it but alas, it didn’t work.  Again, I just kept using my cell phone.  With mother still annoyed and now that I’m going to be working from home soon I thought I really should get someone out here to look at it. 

The cable guy came yesterday and took a look around.  He looked at the modem and hooked something up to see if it was working.  Then he went in the basement.  He came back and went outside.  Then he came back in and said he doesn’t understand how the phone ever worked as there were wires outside that weren’t connected to anything in the basement and there were even more wires in the basement that weren’t connected to what they should have been.  Then I remembered the electricians and how they didn’t seem to know what they were doing.  BIG SIGH  I had the guy show me where said wires were.  He said that none of the phone jacks in the house work.  Isn’t that great?  He was able to plug my phone into the modem and it will work that way. 

So now I have to call the contractors and let them know that the electricians that they sub-contracted didn’t complete the job.  What are the chances that they even still do work for this company?  And what the hell else is wrong in this house? 

Here are some after pics, pardon my windows they hadn’t been cleaned yet (taken right after construction).  LOL

img_0030.jpghpim0327.jpgimg_0108.jpgimg_0015.jpgimg_0091.jpg

Written by Kim

September 1, 2007 at 8:42 am

Posted in Life in general

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How frustrating! We have a wireless set that only needs to be plugged in at one place and gives us 3 phones to place around the house. I’ve thought about getting a phone handset that hooks up to the computer for use with Skype, MSN, Yahoo, etc.

    Robguy

    September 1, 2007 at 10:27 am

  2. Your home looks lovely Kim, & from what I can a very tranquil setting? Are you on acerage? And can I ask is that a pixie or some kind of elf at your door? It was hard to make out. I LOVE mystical/fantasy…and anyhting to do with it!

    Shaney

    September 1, 2007 at 8:55 pm

  3. The remodel looks great. You have such an “8 is Enough” House 🙂 It’s pretty. And I don’t use a phone, that much. But for emergencies, it would be nice to always have one.

    Steve

    September 1, 2007 at 10:27 pm

  4. What a beautiful home. Very cozy and relaxing!

    deveil

    September 2, 2007 at 8:32 am


Leave a Reply

