According to Kim

Have fork will travel

with 5 comments

It seems as if I’ve come to a fork in the road.  I’m not good at decision making and I hate change so this has been a long weekend for me.  It’s been a long weekend for most everybody.  LOL  But I mean mentally.  How do you know when to stay or when to go?  How do you know what the hell I’m talking about if I don’t tell you?  I’m going to do some more thinking …

*update 10:00PM After much thought and even a few sleepless hours I’ve decided to see what might lie ahead.  What the hell am I talking about.  The job, my job, the whole layoff thing.  Beginning in December we will be without a building and working from home.  At first this sounded appealing to me, it would be nice to be here for the kids and not have to drive all over the Capital District.  Then I got to thinking …once we don’t have a building it will be that much easier for them to cut us loose.  They’ve been trying since 2000 and it’s just a matter of time.  Shortly after receiving the news that we would be working from home I got an email from someone I used to work with.  She sent a job posting for an open position in her department and thought I would be a good fit, that was last Thursday.  For the first time in a long time I lost sleep, I never lose sleep.  I was thinking about this job and what it could mean for me.  There is no room for advancement in my current position but many opportunities at the new company.  I would have to meet new people, I really like keeping to myself but maybe this is what I need, a real work environment, it might make me feel a little better.  If I work from home I think I will just let myself go, it would be too easy.  One thing I wouldn’t be happy about is throwing away my retention bonus for this year but what can I do, I need to know that I’ll have a job this time next year.  So I replied to the email and attached my resume.  Who knows what will happen but at least I’m not letting an opportunity pass me by.  Thank you to those who have helped me with this decision 🙂

fork-in-the-road-obj027.jpg

Written by Kim

September 3, 2007 at 10:04 am

Posted in Work

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do I know what you’re thinking about?
    What would Paris Hilton do?

    Robguy

    September 3, 2007 at 10:24 am

  2. Dull and Vague 😛 Are you related Paris Hilton?

    Steve

    September 3, 2007 at 5:26 pm

  3. OMG …you’ve figured it out! I’ll be back to post more, once I get the youngest to bed.

    Kim

    September 3, 2007 at 5:29 pm

  4. You’ll find it Kim, seem we are all looking for it in our lives every day, I know I am. I know you’ve got something good coming up around the corner.

    Derek

    September 3, 2007 at 10:14 pm

  5. That’s a cool picture of a fork 😛

    Steve

    September 3, 2007 at 10:16 pm


Leave a Reply

