According to Kim

What I’m thinking

with 15 comments

For the last month my blog has consisted mostly of articles surrounding the Jaliek Rainwalker missing person case.  Usually I have some funny stories and mishaps to write about from my daily routine but I’ve put that aside for now.  Why should I dedicate my blog to a missing child whom I  do not know?  I have always been interested in missing persons stories but this one is different, mainly because it’s local but also because it’s a 12 year old boy who is either lost or worse.  Perhaps it’s because I’m a mother and have a 13 year old daughter.  The thought of her being out on her own as a runaway or abducted …I don’t know how I would deal with it.  It’s true that we all react differently to situations and who am I to say I wouldn’t be withdrawn in a case like this.  While it’s possible that I could react that way I believe I would be out searching for my child and wouldn’t rest until she was brought home (one way or another). 

Jaliek’s case leaves me with many questions.  First to Stephen Kerr, if you have nothing to hide then you should be able to answer any and all questions thrown your way.  Why do you refuse to take a polygraph?  Why aren’t you in direct communication with law enforcement?  Why aren’t you actively searching for Jaliek?  Again, if you have nothing to hide then the truth cannot incriminate you.  To the mother, Jocelyn McDonald, you did take a polygraph.  Why haven’t we heard the results?  Is it true that your own parents doubt your husbands story?  Other questions I have: If you believe that Jaliek is with 3 teens in Albany, do you know who these teens are?  If so, why doesn’t anybody confront them?  Has law enforcement been made aware of this or did they find this out in yesterdays article?  How could a 12 year old boy who’s face has been on TV and in the newspapers not be seen by somebody …anybody in over a month?  If Jaliek did run away and hasn’t been seen do you think it’s for a reason?  Was living with the adoptive family so bad that a boy of 12 would want to fall off the face of the earth?  Or was living with a boy who has emotional issues too much for the adoptive parents to deal with?  Was it an accident?  Could it be that things got heated and out of control and someone snapped?  If it was an accident why not come forward to let Jaliek rest in peace.  Let others who cared about the boy grieve properly. 

I want to be wrong about what might have happened to Jaliek.  Someone please prove me wrong!

Written by Kim

December 3, 2007 at 7:18 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am neither the mother or father of Jaliek and have no answers to your questions, but I must say that they are probably dealing with huge amounts of pain and grief. Having the media in your front yard, back yard, and everywhere between can cause even more emotional pain, of which is unnecessary. Don’t we live in a country where people are innocent until proven guilty? Why put in your mind that the father or mother are horrible people who deserve to be scrutinized by others who are not in their situation, have never been in that situation, and do not know all of the details. The only information the public knows is the information that the media is allowed to print, and as everyone should be aware the media is able to spin anything they want in anyway that they feel will sell the most papers.

    The world is so cynical and always thinking the worst. Maybe if more people believed in the good of others, Jaliek’s family probably wouldn’t have to deal with additional pain and stressed caused by those outside of their family.

    Cathleen

    December 3, 2007 at 9:40 pm

  2. Kim, I am thankful for your post above and for keeping the information about Jaliek’s disapearance fresh. When I look at his smiling face and his eyes, I see a beautiful spirit. As I read the various sources, I learned about his painful life, his anger and I read about the people who also were his foster parents and had taken good care of him just before he disapeared when S. Kerr picked him up and brought him to his dad’s building… you all have read these many accounts and the story does not make sense at all. The tv interviews do not show a grieving father, to me they show a person who is not open and upfront, rather is calculating and pretending. I do not trust his story, nor the one his wife is now telling of Jaliek being involved with gangs in Albany. After four weeks, with all the publicity this case has had in the area, someone would have seen something and have come forth with information, unless they have something to hide. If someone has harmed him, they will never, ever be able to forget or find peace and someday they will make a mistake.

    Bertha

    December 3, 2007 at 11:00 pm

  3. Cathleen, Thank you for your comment. It is true that in America you are supposed to be innocent until proven otherwise. However, in some circumstances people shed a bad light upon themsleves as Stephen Kerr has done. It may be through no fault of his own, like I said people handle things in different ways. If the family feels as if the media is causing more pain then perhaps they should look at how they are handling themselves in front of the media. This is the only way people who are following this story can get a sense of who these people are and what they are like. The media can be your friend, without media coverage many cases go unrecognized and unsolved. I don’t claim to know what happened to Jaliek, I would just like for him to be found, the rest will unfold afterwards. I have been posting articles that I have found to keep people aware of what is going on in an effort to help the only way I can at this time. I will say I am suspicious of Stephen but as I keep saying, I hope somebody can prove me wrong. What matters here is finding Jaliek, he is in my thoughts and prayers.

    Kim

    December 4, 2007 at 8:46 am

  4. Bertha, Thank you for comment and for understanding where I am coming from. The only way to get answers is by asking questions. The questions might not be what some people want to hear but that doesn’t make them invalid. Jaliek did have a hard life right from the start. There are many issues that surround this story beginning with women who are pregnant and continue to do drugs. As a country we need to raise awareness to this problem because it’s not going away. I agree with your statement that if someone has information then they probably do have something to hide and will not come forward.
    Thank You again for understanding the questions I have. I do not mean to cause any more grief to anyone involved, I’m just looking for justice for Jaliek.

    Kim

    December 4, 2007 at 8:52 am

  5. If indeed Jaliek’s adoptive parents think he is in Albany, why would they wait a month to hand out and hang his missing posters in the area now? I know from the papers that they said they had friends doing it, but why wouldn’t they be driving around and looking every possible moment in the Albany area from day one? Since Jaliek has been missing my daughter and I have hung posters on the streets of Albany, and have not run into one that was hung except by us. My daughter just a teenager immediately started a search in her car in the Albany area once she found out there was a sign supposedly written by Jaliek that said ALBANY. According to Jaliek’s parents, this was the first visit they made to Albany to hang the reward signs. I don’t buy the fact that Jaliek is with a street gang as his mother suggested, as he has never had exposure to street life. Jaliek has lived in Latham, Loudonville, Guilderland, Salem, and Greenwich for the last 10 years, and has not lived in the city of Albany since he was two. He has only lived in rural areas or the suburbs since he could possibly remember. It is very unlikely that Jaliek has become a street wise child living with a gang. Thank you Kim for keeping the peoples interest concerning Jaliek.

    Jaliek's Former Foster Mother

    December 4, 2007 at 11:29 pm

  6. To Jaliek’s former foster mother, Thank You for stopping by again and commenting. For the life of me I cannot understand why the parents aren’t actively searching for Jaliek. Like you said, if they have an idea of where he could be then why aren’t they out there looking? Maybe they are and we don’t know about it but my gut tells me this is not the case. You raised another good point, how could Jaliek get involved with a street gang when he has lived in the suburbs most of his life. I don’t buy this gang angle for several reasons. First as we stated, he lived in the suburbs. Second, Jaliek has emotional issues that I’m not sure a gang would open up to and deal with on a daily basis. Finally, someone would have spotted him on the streets of Albany. There are outreach vans that ride the streets, tending to the homeless. I’m sure if he was out there then there’s a good chance of being spotted.
    I will continue to keep this story alive both here on my blog and the forums on courttv.com. Jaliek is in my thoughts and prayers every day.

    Kim

    December 5, 2007 at 9:14 am

  7. Kim,

    I cannot get Jaliek out of my mind. Sorry but, I don’t think that he will be found alive. I, of course, hope that I am wrong. Please God, let me be wong! Stephen Kerr is just way too weird to me. Did you see the speech that he made about Martin Luther King and how Jaliek came into this world with “insufficient funds”? What the hell was that about? IMO, he won’t take a polygraph because he did the unspeakable. I just hope and pray that they find Jaliek’s body. I don’t believe, for one minute,that he is with a gang in Albany. God, please prove me wrong!!!!

    janet

    December 6, 2007 at 2:31 pm

  8. Hi Janet, Thank You for your comment! You are not the only one who cannot get Jaliek out of your mind. For reasons unknown, this has consumed my thoughts since I first heard his story. I go to bed hoping he will have been found over night and I wake up and check the papers to see what the latest is. Stephen Kerr is very strange, being strange does not make someone a criminal or murder however …

    His actions speak louder than words. I have said before, if he is not involved then he has nothing to fear. He needs to cooperate with LE, this story will not go away.

    Jaliek needs to be brought home.

    Kim

    December 6, 2007 at 3:13 pm

  9. It has been five weeks today since Jaliek disappeared. Thank you for supporting the search for him and caring so much. Jaliek will not be forgotten, finding the truth about what happened on Thursday, November 1st will be found. Stephen refused to take the polygraph because he had not had enough sleep and was anxious ~ those were the reasons he gave for not signing the required paper saying he was in good physical condition. In the coming weeks a Public Forum will be held and as more information and facts are brought out our questions and doubts will be put to rest. Justice for Jaliek is our goal. Thank you to everyone for caring.

    Barbara Reeley

    December 7, 2007 at 7:15 am

  10. Hello Barbara, I appreciate that you have come here and taken the time to comment. I know this has to be a difficult time for you and your family. I can understand Stephen being tired and anxious in the first few days of Jaliek’s disappearance but what about in the days since? I just read an article on Capital News 9 where Stephen states that “I was not involved in his disappearnce. I have nothing to hide.”. If this is true then I hope he will come forward and take the polygraph test.
    I am interested to hear more about this Public Forum that you mentioned. If you have any additional information on that I hope that you will come back to let me know. Everyone that I have talked to wishes that he is found unharmed but feat that will not be the case.
    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family and of course Jaliek.

    Kim

    December 7, 2007 at 9:16 am

  11. Just a note to tell you what a wonderful site you have here and all the prayers for Jaliek and his family are wonderful as you do i go to bed a night and grab the papers in the morning hoping for some word on Jaliek. My thoughts and prayers are with him and hope there will soon be a resolution

    Sasha

    December 11, 2007 at 10:14 pm

  12. Thank you Kim for your kind words ~ this is an extremely difficult time. The Public Forum will not be happening because the investigation is still on-going so police, FBI, forest ranger & other authorities can not participate at this time. There will be a “Light the Night for Jaliek” on Sunday, December 23 from 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. at the VFW in Greenwich. There will be a large holiday card for people to sign, refreshments & free ornaments. The public is invited. Next week I’ll post a telephone number to call for directions and any other questions.

    Barbara Reeley

    December 12, 2007 at 9:21 am

  13. Hello Sasha,

    I’m glad you took the time out to stop by my site. We are all praying for Jaliek. I do hope you stop back, I think you’re local am I right? Please see Barbara’s comment, there will be a “Light the Night ofr Jaliek” on Dec 23rd. I plan on going and hope others who have visited my site will attend as well. It would be nice to meet those who have commented, we might not all agree but we all hope for Jaliek’s safe return.

    Kim

    December 12, 2007 at 10:29 am

  14. Hello Barbara,

    Thank you for coming back to answer my question. I am happy to hear about the “Light the Night for Jaliek” and plan on attending. I’m just outside of Albany but have never been to Greenwich so directions would be great. In the meantime, my thoughts and prayers continue to be with you, your family and of course Jaliek.

    Kim

    December 12, 2007 at 10:31 am

  15. Hi Barbara, Kim,

    we will be there at the “Light the night for Jaliek” gathering too. We are not local, but not too far either.

    Thank you, Barbara for your interview with chanel 9. From the very beginning your caring and love has come through all your actions we saw in the media.

    Our prayers are with you, Jaliek and all people who loved him.

    Bertha

    December 13, 2007 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

