According to Kim

In response to the Post Star article

with 9 comments

This entry is in response to the last article I posted about Kerr being offered to take a polygraph administered by the FBI.  I have some comments in regards to some things that were in the article and I have an email from Barbara Reeley that provides a little more insight as to what happened with her daughter’s house the other day.

“Kerr turned down a request to take a State Police-administered polygraph test in early November, the first week of the investigation of Rainwalker’s Nov. 2 disappearance. Kerr has said he did so because investigators were violating his rights and mistreating him, and a lawyer he consulted at the time told him he should not take it.”

I want to make note to some inconsistencies about the polygraph, just from what I have read in the papers.  In the early days of the investigation Kerr claimed that he was not medically fit to take a polygraph.  There’s a waiver that needs to be signed and he did not feel as if he could sign because he was operating on very little sleep.  To that I say fine, get some sleep then take the test.  As the weeks went on, his story change to the above statement.  He did not want to take the polygraph because he felt that the police treated him unfairly.  My feeling on polygraph tests: the results might not prove anything but a persons willingness to take a polygraph speaks volumes.

“”We believe we’re being fully cooperative with what we’re being asked to do that would lead to Jaliek returning home,” McMorris said.”

If this statement were true then Kerr would be taking the polygraph.  What does a polygraph have to do with Jaliek returning home?  It could possibly dismiss Kerr as a suspect.  What does this mean?  This means that LE could take the time they have been spending on Kerr and put that time and energy into the search for Jaliek.  Like it or not, IMO, Kerr is the only POI at this point.

“McMorris also addressed concerns raised by former foster parents of Rainwalker’s about Kerr and his wife continuing to receive a $1,500-a-month payment from Albany County’s Department of Social Services for caring for Rainwalker. He said the family continues to receive the money because they have expenses for Rainwalker’s care.“They have a son, and they need to provide for him,” McMorris said.”

I cannot believe they could even claim that they need to provide for their son.  Jaliek has been missing since November 1, 2007 and they have collected checks for Nov, Dec and now Jan.  That’s a total of $4,500 for a boy who is not currently in their care.  If anything the money should be set aside by the state until Jaliek returns, if he returns.  How many months should the tax payers of this state pay for services to these parents for a child who is missing and cannot get the care he needs.  How, I ask, are they currently caring for Jaliek?

With Barbara’s permission I will provide you with her side of what transpired on Tuesday afternoon.

“That hostility between the two sides apparently manifested itself Tuesday afternoon, when police were called to the Kerr/McDonald home on Hill Street in Greenwich by McDonald, who was complaining that Reeley — her mother — wouldn’t leave. Bell said the complaint is under investigation and may result in a non-criminal trespass charge against Reeley.”

Morning ~ Yesterday went to Robin’s school to talk to the Chair of the Empty Bowls Committee ~ I brought the Empty Bowls idea to the school last year and was Co-Chair last year.  I received an e-mail from the Chair last week and took a few things to her at the school ~ also took Robin’s Christmast present and gave it to her to give to Robin.

  Then I went to lunch ~ then I went to Raven’s Way to wait for Jocelyn to come home from “school” with the children so I could give the children their Christmas gifts, they didn’t come after half an hour so I went to the school, talked with a woman there and her son said that Jocelyn & the children had gone to the “new” house.  I drove to Hill Street, went to the back door, Bevin opened the door wide & stepped back and I walked in with the bag of Christmas gifts ~ went to the counter & Jocelyn came out of the front of the house saying “Leave” “Leave my house”.  I said that I’d just brought Christmas gifts and would like to give them to the children ~ she said “I’m calling the police because you won’t leave”, Bevin & Kianan were there and I said “Ok, I’ll leave, should I take the gifts or can I leave them for the children, this one is for Bevin, the earrings are from when I went to Florida?” Jocelyn said she was dialing 911.  She then said into the phone “She is in my home, I’ve told her to leave, her name is Barbara Reeley.” I started packing back up the gifts and said “You can call me Barbara (when she was a child and would call me Barbara when she was angry), may I leave the gifts for the children?”  She said “Take them and leave”.  As I was packing up the gifts I told the children I want to write, call and see them but Jocelyn isn’t allowing me to.  Jocelyn then said she allows me visits at the library but I haven’t been coming ~ I said that Mary’s mother died and our best friend just found out she has cancer ~ and she just said “You aren’t coming to the visits.”  I then told the children I was sorry I wasn’t allowed to stay and give them the gifts.  (Before going to the Hill Street house I had called there and had called Jocelyn’s cell phone and not gotten an answer on either).

 So . . . that is what happened.  Let’s see what happens now ~ I could be arrested ~ I could go to the press and tell them the whole story.  The policeman Jocelyn talked to said she wanted to file criminal trespassing charges.  Ah dear me, seems she has inappropriate boundaries (something Jocelyn & Stephen had a friend of theirs meet with me and repeatedly tell me I have inappropriate boundaries).”  ~email from Barbara Reeley

Written by Kim

January 9, 2008 at 11:02 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cannot believe the state is still paying these people. I guess I don’t understand, why they even had custody of a boy when they were trying to un-do an adoption….Is child service crazy, or what?
    Terri

    Terri

    January 10, 2008 at 6:25 am

  2. Hi Terri!

    Crazy is an understatement. I don’t get it either. As far as I know the adoptive parents were looking into un-doing the adoption but hadn’t taken any steps to begin the process. I don’t think Jaliek knew either, which is good because that would be just awful.

    Kim

    Kim

    January 10, 2008 at 8:28 am

  3. “the new house” – Did the Kerr’s move into a new home?

    janet

    January 10, 2008 at 9:49 am

  4. Hi Janet!

    I think “the new house” is Kerr’s father’s house. If memory serves me correctly, they’ve been living there since Jaliek’s been missing. I’m not sure why, I know at one point Kerr was not allowed to be with his children so maybe Jocelyn went there with the kids. I do not believe that they purchased a new house.

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Kim

    Kim

    January 10, 2008 at 9:58 am

  5. I cannot believe that very little is being done by officials to find Jaliek. Being a resident and parent of the town he disappeared from, this is very upsetting. There is a 12 year old lost, and no indication of his whereabouts, and I have not seen much evidence of any local law officials searching or investigating. As a matter of fact, what I do see are various volunteers doing whatever is possible to find this young man. Whatever happened to the Amber Alert? Why aren’t the Greenwich-Cambridge police still searching for this child? Is it because they assume that he is dead and they are setting up a case against his father? This is how I have seen the Greenwich-Cambridge operate in the past. Can this case be placed in the FBI’s hands? Because I am familar with the Greenwich-Cambridge Police (who could not even catch the Town’s only bank robbers-the FBI came in and captured the robbers within 1 week), I would suggest that another police agency come in and do the job so that Jalike can be found. By watching this incident and by past experience, I have little confidence in the Greenwich-Cambridge Police, and the main concern is to find Jaliek. Yes the main concern is to find Jaliek and whatever is necessary should be done by all, especially the Greenwich-Cambridge Police!

    greenwichresident

    January 10, 2008 at 2:13 pm

  6. They could contribute $1500 per month to the fund to help offset the $5000 it decreases when he hasn’t been found.

    MCA

    January 11, 2008 at 4:04 pm

  7. They could but will they?

    Kim

    January 11, 2008 at 4:09 pm

  8. Kim,

    You can delete the link if you don’t allow them but just an FYI

    There is an article from News10 which says the $1500 stipend has now been stopped.

    http://www.wten.com/Global/story.asp?S=7611295

    MCA

    January 12, 2008 at 8:20 am

  9. Thank You for the link!

    Kim

    January 12, 2008 at 11:57 am


Leave a Reply

