According to Kim

Today’s news …

with 24 comments

It seems that this is the hot topic today.  I hope we hear from the Greenwich police over the weekend on the evidence that they took from the home on Hill Street.  I have highlighted some statements that raised my eyebrow.

Police face lawsuit in Jaliek Rainwalker probe

Adoptive parents of missing boy say crusading officers improperly searched their home

GREENWICH — The adoptive parents of missing 12-year-old Jaliek Rainwalker filed notice Friday that they will sue the Cambridge-Greenwich Police Department, claiming officers have “crusaded” against them during their investigation and acted improperly when serving a search warrant on their home last week.

According to Tucker Stanclift, an attorney representing Stephen Kerr and Jocelyn McDonald, a notice of claim was filed by mail seeking civil damages from the Village of Greenwich, its police department and Chief George Bell. The notice claims authorities trespassed on the Hill Street home of Kerr’s father Graham while executing a search warrant there Feb. 7.

Kerr and McDonald were falsely imprisoned, and during that time officers “refused to allow Kerr and his wife to freely move about their own home, without a warrant,” which arrived an hour after investigators arrived, Stanclift said.

The notice says that abuse of process constituted the “intentional infliction of emotional distress,” Stanclift said. A specific amount of damages sought will not arise until the actual lawsuit is filed.

“Jaliek is missing, and the cowboy attitude of this investigation has led to a single, narrow-minded focus,” the attorney said. “It’s a crusade to try my clients in the press.”

Rainwalker has been missing since Nov. 1, and was last seen with his adoptive father in the Hill Street home. Kerr, 37, was named a “person of interest” in the disappearance.

Kerr has said he believes Rainwalker, who is biracial, is alive and perhaps living with a gang or an African-American family in Albany or Troy.

Bell could not immediately be reached for comment on the lawsuit. Assistant Chief Harold Spiezio said “all of our protocols and all of our laws were followed in executing that search warrant.”

During the Feb. 7 search, investigators seized a computer and printer, which they are examining for links to an anonymous note sent to several media outlets saying Rainwalker was alive.

http://www.timesunion.com/AspStories/story.asp?storyID=664255

Here are some additional links, same stroy different sources:

http://capitalnews9.com/Default.aspx?ArID=110659

http://wnyt.com/article/stories/S348680.shtml?cat=300

Written by Kim

February 16, 2008 at 9:02 am

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. IMO/JMO: Although everyone is entitled to legal representation, this just show’s there’s an attention grabbing lawyer for every occasion. And it further highlights that the parents will do anything BUT cooperate in an effort to find their son. I don’t know, but it’s not what I would do if my kid was missing..
    One question: Who is paying the retainer for the lawyer?
    Maybe if this ever goes to trial the other kids can stand outside the courthouse and sell eggs….

    Megan

    February 16, 2008 at 11:15 am

  2. Maybe Kerrs father is paying the retainer. Retainers disappear very quickly. Lawyers charge for everything including phone calls stamps and envelopes.

    alice

    February 16, 2008 at 12:35 pm

  3. Hi Megan,

    Yes, everyone is entitled to representation and if I were Kerr I would have obtained a lawyer too. Those who have something to hide usually do lawyer up right away. Now if I were someone who cared I might try to cooperate. You have to be a fool not to understand that you’re going to be living under a microscope until you’re name is cleared. Of course in Stephen’s case I dobut he would be cleared.

    I’m thinking the same as Alice (Hi Alice!), his father is probably footing the bill. There aren’t enough eggs to cover these expenses.

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 12:59 pm

  4. There’s a new blog in town. Head on over to http://www.techfortoday.wordpress.com for your daily tech news.

    techfortoday

    February 16, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  5. Its not what Id being doing either if one of my kids went missing. Even if the cops thought I was a suspect – so what? I would cooperated with them any way I could because I would want them to find my kid.

    alice

    February 16, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  6. I have lost a child.I know all to well the pain and heart-break involved.Jalicks parents are so far from being heart-broken it’s pitiful! ME,ME,ME…. that’s all they care about.

    That’s right Mr. Kerr ….file a lawsuit….make yourself more of a suspect than you already are….and most important….stay right in the lime-light….easier to keep an eye on you….

    Karen

    February 16, 2008 at 6:25 pm

  7. Been reading alot this past hour….everything I could find about the newest twist in ((((Jalick’s))))) case…..first,what innocent person needs FIVE lawyers????….and second ….how can Kerr,McDonald and their cast of lawyers sleep at night?

    Karen

    February 16, 2008 at 7:39 pm

  8. I’m sorry Karen, I wasn’t aware you had a child that was missing. Please feel free to send me any information and I will post it for you. You can also put a thread on the message board. I cannot imagine the pain you must be feeling. I know you keep up on Jaliek’s case regularly, you show more concern for Jaliek than Kerr does.

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 7:50 pm

  9. I wouldnt be surprised if Kerr is expecting to give out autographs.

    alice

    February 16, 2008 at 7:54 pm

  10. I cant believe Kerrs wife gave a police officer the bird. Is that how you treat someone who is trying to find your missing child?

    alice

    February 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

  11. I’m sorry Kim….no I do not have a missing child….if I did I would move mountains to find him….not file silly law-suits!

    The Lord called our oldest son home to Heaven 14 yrs. ago….We miss him terribly….My heart breaks for children like Jalick….loving,beautiful children whom never know the real love of a Mother and Father.

    Karen

    February 16, 2008 at 7:57 pm

  12. Thank You Karen for clearing that up. I’m sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine how it must feel losing a child.

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 8:01 pm

  13. Hi Alice,

    It seems nothing surprises me any more when it comes to these two. Let’s, for a brief second, give them the benefit of the doubt and say they truly didn’t have anything to do with Jaliek’s disappearance. Then I would say that their frustration level has to be through the roof. With that being said, if it were me and I was in their shoes, I would do what I could to clear my name so LE could put focus elsewhere.

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 8:05 pm

  14. there are no excuses for their behavior. Someone needs to go and make sure there children are feeling secure. I have a feeling they do not have such a happy household right now. Which cannot be healthy for these children. I wish someone could deem Jocelyn in-competent to make descions because she is a victim of domestic violence from Kerr. Maybe I have gone off the loose end. Kids do not just go away.. It irritates me so much. sorry for my typos…

    Kalley

    February 16, 2008 at 8:37 pm

  15. Can you imagine how Jalick must have felt when he realized the Kerr’s were going to “un-do” the adoption?How can you treat a precious child like this?….I feel strongly that all the children be removed from the Kerr’s care until we have answers.

    Karen

    February 16, 2008 at 8:42 pm

  16. Hi Kalley,

    Rest assured, I’m not trying to make excuses for anyone. The children, I wish I knew what was going on there. One child should be receiving $$ for services but how does that work when she doesn’t live in NY anymore? Not that I’m convinced that she was get the therapy that she needs anyway. There was a period of time when the children were taken away but then they were allowed back with Kerr. Who will be monitoring this now?

    Don’t worry about the typo’s, I have spelling errors. I need spell check!

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 8:45 pm

  17. Hopefully Jalied didn’t know that his adoptive parent were trying to undo is adpotion. That would be so sad. Which reminds me of the interview the two of them did on News Channel 10. Jocelyn was talking about why children like Jaliek have trouble getting close to their foster families. She said it was because they never knew if that was going to be the last day with them, or something to that effect. And what were they about to do to Jaliek?

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm

  18. I think that Vermont department of social services should be the ones to check this all out. New York State may have already contacted them..I would like them to give the public an explanation why they have packed up and moved, and why they refuse to cooperate with police. I think Jocelyn has to be having some sort of breakdown or something. I honestly think she might be scared. I would give a billion bucks to be a fly on there wall just to make sure the children they have are safe. I do hope they are not planning anymore adoptions or foster children. There should be some sort of red flag on them. I also think with Kerr being a person of interest in a missing child case, he should not be allowed contact with any children until this case is solved. he should be removed from the home and made to live elsewhere.All we can do now is pray for the children in there custody and pray for Jaliek.. Its so sad 😦

    Kalley

    February 16, 2008 at 8:57 pm

  19. One would think that NYS would pass this information to DSS in VT but this is the same NYS that continued to pay Kerr and McDonald $1500/mo for services for Jaliek even though he is missing!!! If nothing else that money should have been held by the state to be turned over when/if Jaliek returns. I have little faith in the system, regardless of what state it is.

    IMO/JMO I do believe that Jocelyn is brainwashed by Kerr. Stand by your man or something like that. He either has her completely snowballed or she is afraid for her life. Keep in mind, she cooperated in the beginning and took a polygraph. The results to that have never been disclosed, which to me is very curious. She is probably afraid for herself and afraid for her children. If that’s the case then she should just leave under the cover of darkness with the kids. Or maybe better to leave in broad daylight, just so people see you out and about. There are places that she can go where she would be safe. I don’t think she’ll leave though because most women who are in situations like this don’t leave.

    You’re so right about the red flag, there should be a glowing neon sign on their roof top, flashing …”POI … POI …POI”

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 9:19 pm

  20. Hey everyone,
    Wow the NYT boards are bowing up! I gotta say at first I was skeptical at the thought that Granny and GG were possibly Kerr and Co. But now I’m not so sure!

    TheBugHouse

    February 16, 2008 at 9:32 pm

  21. I just checked those boards. GG called me arrogant for assuming he’s been to my blog. I replied how funny, I used the word arrogant when referring to Stephen Kerr. LOL

    Kim

    February 16, 2008 at 11:30 pm

  22. I do believe that the lawsuit is going to get tossed too. Its Kerrs fathers house and he should be the one doing the suing.

    alice

    February 16, 2008 at 11:34 pm

  23. Most people sell their house before they move into another. I dont know where Kerr is getting all this money because it sure doesnt fall from the sky. Everything about these people is very strange.

    alice

    February 16, 2008 at 11:40 pm

  24. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again….this blog is incredible!….I’m sure it is reaching many and opening many eyes along the way.I’m also sure it’s just a matter of time until Jalicks story is told in full!

    Karen

    February 17, 2008 at 7:31 am


Leave a Reply

