According to Kim

More On Cell Records

with 11 comments

Rainwalker probe focuses on call

Police believe adoptive father misstated location on night youth vanished
GREENWICH — Investigators searching for Jaliek Rainwalker have reason to believe the missing boy’s father lied about his whereabouts the day the 12-year-old disappeared.Chief George Bell of the Cambridge-Greenwich Police Department said Wednesday Stephen Kerr’s cellphone records show he received a call in South Troy the night of Nov. 1. Kerr told police was in Melrose, a hamlet in Schaghticoke, at the time of the call.
Kerr adopted Jaliek five years ago with his wife, Jocelyn McDonald. Police describe him as “a person of interest” in the disappearance. Kerr was the last person to see Rainwalker when the two of them stayed at Kerr’s father’s house in Greenwich. Kerr has said Rainwalker ran away.”Since day one we’ve been dealing with Verizon engineers and concentrating on Kerr’s whereabouts that night,” said Bell. “We firmly believe based on what the engineers are telling us, he was in South Troy, and it was impossible for him to be where he said he was that night.”

Kerr picked up Rainwalker at a respite home in Altamont and drove with him to Greenwich, Bell said. Kerr said he took Route 9 to alternate Route 7 and Hoosick Street where he turned onto Oakwood Avenue and then onto Route 40, which Kerr took north to Greenwich.

After Rainwalker’s disappearance, Bell said Kerr retraced the route with police and said he took a phone call when he was near Hurley’s Garage in Melrose on Route 40. But Bell said records show the cell tower that transmitted the call was in South Troy, a 20- to 25-minute drive away from Hurley’s.

“Jaliek is still our number one priority; we’re waiting on the Texas Equusearch (an equine search team) and the weather to break and we need the high water to recede,” Bell said.

Several searches are planned in the next three weeks in South Troy, Greenwich and elsewhere.

http://www.timesunion.com/AspStories/story.asp?storyID=675663&category=REGION&newsdate=3/27/2008

Written by Kim

March 27, 2008 at 6:16 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They’re closing in are’nt they?Jalick WILL get the justice he deserves!

    karen

    March 28, 2008 at 4:22 am

  2. Yes Karen, I do think they are closing in. I cannot wait for the day when Jaliek is brought home.

    Kim

    March 28, 2008 at 8:39 am

  3. Hi Kim I am Katie in Troy from the WNYT Topix Forum, I was helping to plan the Bake Sale on April 5th. I just have quick question for you, I was reading they are planning searches in South Troy later this week? I live in South Troy and I was wondering if you knew if they could use some help? That is all, your website is beautiful and I admire your dedication. Enjoy your weekend! Katie

    Katie Cassidy

    March 28, 2008 at 9:06 pm

  4. Hi Katie. I don’t know much more about the searches other than what is posted on http://www.findjaliek.org

    COMMUNITY SEARCH

    Conducted All Day

    We are requesting that the public search on their own property in all areas between Troy, NY and all routes to Greenwich, NY, especially if their property borders the Hudson River or Battenkill. Also, check your favorite fishing spots, hiking trails and any areas where you may be turkey hunting. If you find anything suspicious, DO NOT TOUCH anything, but contact the Greenwich Police at 692-9332.

    There is a form you can complete on their site too for when they plan organized searches. I’m sure you already know this but I thought I would post it for others who might not be aware. I will contact Joy and see if I can get more information on searches.

    Thank You for stopping by and I hope I get the chance to meet you on April 5th!

    Kim

    March 29, 2008 at 9:58 am

  5. Hi Kim,
    Got your email regarding Katie’s question, and basically, the answer is here http://findjaliek.org/find_Jaliek_day.htm. I have not been notified of any other searches, but must admit since I have been planning Jaliek’s benefit, I have not been able to speak with Barbara and Elaine as much as I normally do. I will call Barbara and Elaine to ask if there is another day they are doing a search, but I do believe the search is still as planned as a community effort on April 5th. Thanks for all your help. Have a safe trip back home. Joy

  6. For some reason the link is not working above, so here is the info from http://www.findjaliek.org site. If I find out there is another search scheduled, I will let you. Thanks, Joy

    COMMUNITY SEARCH

    Conducted All Day

    We are requesting that the public search on their own property in all areas between Troy, NY and all routes to Greenwich, NY, especially if their property borders the Hudson River or Battenkill. Also, check your favorite fishing spots, hiking trails and any areas where you may be turkey hunting. If you find anything suspicious, DO NOT TOUCH anything, but contact the Greenwich Police at 692-9332.

  7. I have been praying for Jaleik since the day since the day he came missing. I even dream about him. I am always looking on the side of the road every time I drive on Rt. 40 to Granville. Please, everyone help me pray for him. Thank You, Jan

    Jan

    April 17, 2008 at 9:36 am

  8. I don’t have a Website. This is through “Blingo”. Jan

    Jan

    April 17, 2008 at 9:38 am

  9. Hi Jan, thank you for your comment 🙂
    I don’t live close to Greenwich but if I did I think I would be doing the same that you are, looking on the sides of the roads. We will all continue to pray for Jaliek.

    Kim

    April 17, 2008 at 10:37 am

  10. Stephen kerr was at the palace theatre in albany last night with a few teenage children. One of the teenagers was half african american and I do not know if it was actually one of his children. Ithought it was very disturbing and I am 100% it was him.

    mike

    November 15, 2008 at 3:48 pm

  11. Hello Mike,

    Stephen does have at least one teenage child, I don’t know the specific ages of his kids though.

    Kim

    November 15, 2008 at 10:29 pm


Leave a Reply

