According to Kim

Vigil for Jaliek November 1, 2008

with 4 comments

There will be a  vigil marking the one year anniversary of Jaliek’s disappearance on the evening of Saturday, Nov 1st.  Anyone wishing to drive from Latham to Greenwich meet at the Latham Farms parking lot at 7 pm.  We will leave there with our emergency flashers on at 8 pm and drive by Red Robin Restaurant and then up the route Stephen told law enforcement he took with Jaliek.  We will drive to Greenwich and stop briefly at Hill Street and then go to Mowry Park, park our cars and quietly assemble in Mowry Park.  We will light twelve large candles (one for each month Jaliek has been missing).  People may want to bring lawn chairs and dress warmly.  If it rains we will have two canopies and there is a gazebo.  The vigil will be quiet, respectful and peaceful.  If it is cold we will provide warm cider and coffee.  Posters and photographs of Jaliek are appropriate.  At midnight we will clean up the park, blow out the candles and go home.

Written by Kim

October 21, 2008 at 9:08 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I Give You My Word

    I will never forget our first day together,
    what a beautiful October day.
    How your tiny little kisses,
    melted my long day away.

    I will never forget how lucky I was to have you,
    or the first day you climbed our apple tree.
    The first day you called me Mommy,
    and the yellow flowers you picked for me

    I will never forget when you were sick,
    and how you hardly even complained.
    The days you made us laugh so hard,
    and the many silly stories you explained

    I will never forget when your brother dropped his cookie,
    and how you broke yours in half for two.
    That first thanksgiving you were thankful for
    your Sissy & Bear, and planted a table kiss too.

    I will never forget the day you were mad at all of us,
    and then you smiled, and made us all laugh.
    How you worked so hard on your school projects,
    and what a mess you made in the bath.

    I have never forgot that you were my son,
    and what joy and love you supplied.
    The day I learned that you were gone,
    a part of me vanished and died.

    But, I’ll never forget your sweet boy smell,
    and how your kisses could melt a day.
    Or, the way your hair tickled my nose,
    these memories will always stay.

    I’ve never considered you anything else,
    I’m so proud that you were my son.
    This is the second time we have lost you,
    but your memory has always lived on.

    Where there is love, there is you,
    and, I give you my WORD…
    When the time is right…Jaliek…

    You will be found and very much heard!

    Mommy Joy

    October 22, 2008 at 12:41 am

  2. I can’t believe it’s been a year 😦

    Steve Rebooted

    October 22, 2008 at 2:30 pm

  3. That’s beautiful Joy.

    Kim

    October 22, 2008 at 8:08 pm

  4. I know Steve. Almost one year an no answers 😦

    Kim

    October 22, 2008 at 8:09 pm


Leave a Reply

